MARTA KOZERA: A Polish Illustrator Incorporating Inspiring Quotations in Her Drawings

Interviewed by Gabriella Alziari

“I’m a literature lover, so it’s natural for me to look for inspiration in the quotes of my favorite authors.”

-Marta Kozera

Marta Kozera is an illustrator based in Warsaw, Poland who graduated with a BA in Graphic Art. Her precise use of line and color offers her work both an organic and aesthetically pleasing tone. Forever the literature lover, Marta incorporates some of her favorite quotations in her illustrations. Excerpts from Albert Camus, John Steinbeck, Mark Twain, E.E. Cummings, Stephen Hawking and Charles Bukowski have made an appearance in her work, among others. She hopes that her viewers find humor and inspiration in her art. 

How did your journey as an artist begin?

My father is a sculptor and art conservator. My grandfather was a painter so being an artist was one of the possible ways for me to follow, but I can’t say that I always knew this was the way for me. Watching my father, I knew the reality of this way of life. Finally I decided, and now I have graduated in traditional graphic art techniques.

Tell us about your work.

I’m in a very interesting moment of my artistic way. After graduating, I started working for a big international company connected with the clothing industry as a graphic designer. After a few years, I gave birth and decided to be with my children for a while. This time gave me an opportunity to find my artistic way once again. My Marta Kozera Illustration profile on Facebook is the effect.

Do you have a favorite subject to illustrate?

I think women are an important part of my art due to the fact that I’m a woman. I was always fascinated by women in art.

Can you describe your working style?

This is hard to describe my own work. The way an artist should express himself is his own art, but I can say that I think that my inspiration is Art Neuve and pop art. Technically I use mixed media. The start is always a hand drawing and then I also use digital media.

Could you talk about the use of line in your artwork?

I think this is the consequence of my inspirations, but I didn’t choose the line. It chose me. Whenever I want to leave this way of working, it comes back…

Many of your illustrations include quotations from authors. Can you say more about this?

I’m a literature lover, so it’s natural for me to look for inspiration in the quotes of my favorite authors. When I was young I had a special notebook with quotes. The project of illustrations with literature quotes is very inspiring for me and I think it will last some more time.

How long does it normally take for you to complete a piece?

It is hard to say. It happens very rarely when I have time to do all of the graphics at once. I collect ideas in my head. At the right time, I realize the project, but most important is the conception, which comes when I do other things.

What does being an artist mean to you?

To develop myself all of the time.

Do you find it challenging to be a woman in your field? If so, how have you come out of this difficulty?

As we live in a patriarchal society, it is surely part of the reality that we have to fight for a place. The other fact is that there was no better time to live for women in all of human history than now. It is our duty to make use of the possibilities and our time for the lucky women living in countries where their place is starting to change.

Are you working on any projects currently?

I’m working on two projects now. One is Marta Kozera Illustration and the other is a Facebook profile “Sztuka raz dziennie. Codziennie.” (Art once a day. Every day) which is the place where I share the work of other artists that inspire me.

What advice would you give to aspiring women artists?

Work every day! Develop yourself! Don’t waste time!

Learn more about Marta Kozera hereCheck out her Behance and Instagram pages, too!

Presented by the International Foundation for Women Artists.

Leave a Reply

