MARIA LOUCEIRO: A Portuguese Photographer and Illustrator Documenting Concerts Worldwide

Interviewed by Gabriella Alziari

“I love collage, creating new worlds through mixing different existing ones.”

-Maria Louceiro

Maria Louceiro is a photographer and illustrator who was born in Portugal. She studied Mining and Geo-Environmental Engineering during school, yet found herself more intrigued by viewing the mines as an art form. This eventually led her to use her photography and drawing skills to inspire new works. These days, she enjoys a variety of projects, such as photographing musicians and illustrating books. Her unique perspective is captured in every one of her pieces through her experimentation, use of light, willingness to challenge herself, and ability to capture expression and feeling. She has just completed her degree in Communication Design at ESAD (Escola Superior de Artes e Design). 

Where did your journey with art begin?

Since always, I think.

Tell us about your work.

I can’t tell you! You have to find out for yourself.

Charles Bradley

Charles Bradley

What is your favorite medium to work with? Why?

Photography and illustration. I love collage, creating new worlds through mixing different existing ones.

How did you initially become involved in music portraiture?

I thought to myself one day that I really wouldn’t like to photograph concerts; it would make me nervous and it seemed a bit boring. So I tried it.

Pixies

Pixies

Can you talk about the tone that you convey in your photographs?

I’m just trying to show what I see and how I see it. My point of view.

Many of your photographs have double exposures. How did this come about?

This was actually originated in illustration. I first tried it while making illustrations, and I wasn’t satisfied so I tried it with a different medium.

What has been one of your most exciting projects? Why?

Not actually a project, but I think shooting musicians is really exciting– talking with them and finding out more about their opinions and views of the world. Most of them are truly unique individuals.

How has art influenced your life?

They influence each other I guess.

Trentemøller

Trentemøller

Is it challenging to be a woman in your field? If so, how have you risen above previous challenges?

Even with the right attitude it can be challenging from time to time, but I can’t complain. I’m having some great people helping me lately, and people I really admire and look up to! So I guess I just overcame the challenges by continuing to do what I want and trying to ignore all the background noise.

Pixies

Pixies

Have you grown as an artist over the course of your career?

Yes, definitely. That’s the point of all of this. Growth leads you to new and exciting worlds.

Are you working on anything currently?

I’m working on some exhibits with my images and illustrating a book which hopefully will come out soon.

Learn more about Maria Louceiro here and here. Check out her Facebook and Twitter pages, too!

You can purchase her prints and limited edition works here

Presented by the International Foundation for Women Artists.

3 thoughts on “MARIA LOUCEIRO: A Portuguese Photographer and Illustrator Documenting Concerts Worldwide

  1. Well it was an incredibly useful article.Thank you just for posting this type of info with us.I hope you will definitely continue enlightening individuals in future also,with this kind of valuable information.Keep up the brilliant work.

Leave a Reply

