LAYLA MEHDI POUR: A Persian Product Designer Making The Everyday Meaningful

Interviewed by Gabriella Alziari

“I think our domestic space is surrounded by small objects we are attached to, which are charming to us not only for their daily use, but also because of their inner meaning.”

-Layla Mehdi Pour

Layla Mehdi Pour is a Persian product designer. She graduated from the Art University of Tehran with a degree in Industrial Design, and later continued her studies in Italy, where she graduated from IUAV in Venice in 2008. After this, she pursued her postgraduate degree in Eco Efficient Product Design at Polytechnic of Turin. Layla is currently building her career; her creative work focuses on reinventing everyday objects by transforming them into innovative and fresh pieces. 

Where did your journey with art begin?

Since I remember, I’ve always liked drawing. When I was 14 years old, I won the national first prize of watercolor. Maybe this was a highlight point as a beginning for my future career. Afterwards, I began high school in graphic design and university in industrial design at Tehran and then in Italy. I started my career as a product designer in 2012. I’m a beginner!

FëlFël Salt-and-pepper shaker

FëlFël
Salt-and-pepper shaker

Tell us about your work.

I think our domestic space is surrounded by small objects we are attached to, which are charming to us not only for their daily use, but also because of their inner meaning. I would like to bring, through my work, these little moments of emotional surprise to the human living space. I like the idea of people smiling when they use my products.

FëlFël Salt-and-pepper shaker

FëlFël
Salt-and-pepper shaker

Where is your inspiration from?

Inspiration can come from everything. All of it can be challenging– it is how you approach the world. It may come from an imagination or observation, a poem, a sensation, a dream, or from a cultural element…

How do you balance practicality and aesthetics in your work?

All of my works are an experimental attempt to bring an equal balance between aesthetics and practicality.

Dan Oil and Vinegar Set

Dan
Oil and Vinegar Set

In your opinion, what sets your art apart and makes it special?

I think the users decide that.

Can you talk about your use of shapes in your work?

It depends on the object’s nature, but generally I’m faithful to simple forms.

In some of them, the users can participate to change the shape of a product during the time according to their taste.

Pardis Modular vases

Pardis
Modular vases

When creating a new piece or pieces, what stage of the process do you most enjoy? Why?

I really enjoy the developing phase, when an idea starts to take form, when a two dimensional design becomes a touchable three dimensional object, exactly as you had imagined. Creation is amazing!

How has art helped you to understand yourself better?

Designing is like a meditation; without time, just focusing and reflecting.

Sophie Wall Clock

Sophie
Wall Clock

Sophie Wall Clock

Sophie
Wall Clock

How do you find being a woman in your field?

I think that nowadays there’s no relevant difference in this field. Equal opportunities are available.

Are you working on any projects currently? 

I’m currently working on a lighting and a chair project.

Learn more about Layla Mehdi Pour here. Check out her Facebook and Twitter pages, too! 

Presented by the International Foundation for Women Artists.

27 thoughts on “LAYLA MEHDI POUR: A Persian Product Designer Making The Everyday Meaningful

  1. Pingback: Layla Mehdi Pour featured on CrowdyHouse.com! | International Foundation for Women Artists

  2. Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles?

    I mean, what you say is valuable and everything. Nevertheless think of
    if you added some great pictures or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with pics and video clips, this site could
    certainly be one of the very best in its niche.

    Awesome blog!

    • Hey there; thanks for your comment. Yes, we are developing our press department to include other events, interviews, bios and all else, but it takes people and time to organize all of it. But be sure we will grow the blog to an online mag featuring all sorts of works and events by female artists and inspiring women.. Stand by!
      IFWA

  3. An interesting discussion is definitely worth comment.
    I do believe that you ought to publish more on this subject matter, it might not be a
    taboo matter but typically people do not talk about such subjects.
    To the next! All the best!!

  4. Hi there! This post could not be written any better! Reading this post reminds me
    of my old room mate! He always kept chatting about this.

    I will forward this post to him. Fairly certain he will have
    a good read. Thank you for sharing!

  5. I have been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or
    blog posts on this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo
    I finally stumbled upon this site. Reading this information So i am happy
    to show that I’ve a very good uncanny feeling I discovered
    just what I needed. I such a lot indubitably will make certain to don?t omit this website and provides it a glance on a relentless
    basis.

  6. Simply want to say your article is as surprising. The clearness in your post is just great and i could assume you are an expert on this subject.
    Well with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please keep up the enjoyable
    work.

Leave a Reply

