Interview / Jan Dove

That which you loved as a child, that is your truest instinct.  Abandon it and you will never be happy.

– Jan Dove

Oola as Antiope, All Due Respect to Watteau

Oola as Antiope, All Due Respect to Watteau

She is an artist who uses the camera, the pencil, the computer, the printing press as tools to allow stories about her world to surface in whatever form they take.  She studied at Cal State East Bay and also earned an MFA from School of the Art Institute of Chicago.

Oala

Oola, Jan’s alter-ego

We’d like to know your background.

I am a visual artist, trained in printmaking at Cal State East Bay and at School of the Art Institute of Chicago. I have always been an artist. But my earliest memory of being recognized as an artist was in the third grade when teacher chose me to make the Christmas tree bulletin board. Unfortunately, I caught a cold and had to stay home, and when I came back to school, to my great disappointment, someone else had finished my work!

Where do you gather most of the inspiration for your works?

My work has always had roots in the Narrative.  Not narrative in a linear sense.  Still the story in some sense has been part of my work in some way.  If you are old enough to remember the 70s you will understand that art school did not favor the Narrative in visual art.  There were still too many Modernist teachers around who did not know that they were in a post-Modern world.  And those teachers were hard for the self-esteem. But my need for “Story” won out.

Water Book, as installed in water

Water Book, as installed in water

Which of your artwork pieces is your favorite?

My favorite is usually the one I am working on.

When I see some really good art, I feel that I must get into the studio ASAP. Then I play around until something comes together.

In the best of times, I run into the house to exclaim “Look what happened in the studio!” I have the feeling that I have been a funnel for something good to come into the world.

Oola Gone Baroque, all due respect to Watteau

Oola Gone Baroque, all due respect to Watteau

What do you think the artist is in society?

The artist sees what is possible and is an instigator of change.  At the highest levels the artist tells truth to power.  Unfortunately, at times the artist has been the canary in the coal mine of dysfunctional society.

In my life as an artist I have had the honor of helping to change other lives for the better — mostly working on the person-to-person level as a teacher of art, sometimes in schools, other times in prisons.

On the general level, I have seen over time that artists are the harbingers, and sometimes the hammers, for social changes that must be made, background changes, like the move from the idea of Artist as Hero to Art as a function of the community.

Over the years I have received fellowships to make my work at artist colonies.  Now, I have received recognition for being an artist who helps others through art.  But at the artist colonies I have felt honored just for the fact that I live my life as an artist.  This is rare occurrence in our culture.  We in the West need to have more recognition of our “national treasures”, like Japan has for its best artists.

What’s the best thing about being a woman artist?

We ROCK!

Oola as Marilyn, All Due Respect to Warhol

Oola as Marilyn, All Due Respect to Warhol

What is the most difficult part of being a female artist?

Lack of money and time.

How do you manage in such a situation?

I have always kept a day job so that I can afford to make my studio a place where no one, no need, no force can control what I do or make.  Less time, but more satisfaction.

Did you ever feel like giving up?

One time, when I was an art student and a single mom I began to wonder if pursuing a life as an artist was fair to my child.  And how could I spend my life so hedonistically when there is so much suffering in the world.  I had a wonderful art history teacher, Mr. Pugliese, whose features reminded me of the Buddha.  One night I had this wonderful dream where I saw Mr. Pugliese/Buddha and I approached him asking wordlessly if I should continue with this art stuff.  As I got closer I saw that he had a gentle smile on his face and he was nodding his head “yes”.  Since dreams are the truest thing we tell ourselves, I have treasured this dream, and I return to it when times get hard.

What I tell my students is this:  That which you loved as a child, that is your truest instinct.  Abandon it and you will never be happy.

How do you look at your previous pieces?

Once in a while it is fun to look at old work to see who I was back then.  But mostly, I just keep on moving on.

How does your cultural background affect your work?

I grew up in a staunch Catholic black/white, right/wrong world.  When I worked as an artist in prisons, I came to see that world-view as unreal and unkind.  Now – though I don’t do this consciously – my work is usually both right and wrong, both black and white, contradictory at times.  Ambiguity is my hard-won friend.

Open Road, page one

Open Road, page one

Open Road, page five

Open Road, page five

What are you dreaming of?

When I worked as an Art Administrator in a women’s prison I got to bring artists in to teach their skills to my inmate students.  One of those teachers was a doll maker, Margot Jensen.  During one of those classes I got to make a silly little doll.  I named her Oola and put her in a box.

Several years ago she came out of the box and developed as an alter-ego through whom  I began to develop my feminist critique Western Art History, when I saw how Art History is STILL being taught in our schools.  Digitally I injected Oola into some of the top-forty Western Art History “classics” to question both motivation and results.

Oola grew into this person who travels with me and says things I personally am too “well trained” to say.

My dream is to continue on the Oola path in some way.

Oola as Goya's Maja

Oola as Goya’s Maja

Oola in Eden, All Due Respect to Van der Goes

Oola in Eden, All Due Respect to Van der Goes

What is up and coming for you, as projects?

For now, I will continue to see where the artist book making road takes me.

What do you want to do next?

I write an art/travel blog http://jandove.wordpress.com.  If I had my druthers Oola and I would make more road trips, visiting artists who interest me, photographing and writing about them.

#

If you were interested in her artwork, visit Jan’s website and Women Artists of the World !

#

Presented by International Foundation for Women Artists

49 thoughts on “Interview / Jan Dove

  1. Pingback: Women Artists of the World interview | Road Trip

    • I am curious to find out what blog platform you’re using?
      I’m having some minor security issues with my latest
      site and I would like to find something more safe. Do you have any
      solutions?

  2. Pingback: GALLERY DESIGN CLASS AT BERKELEY CITY COLLEGE | International Foundation for Women Artists

    • Hi I am so excited I found your web site, I really found you
      by accident, while I was looking on Askjeeve for something else, Regardless I am here
      now and would just like to say many thanks for a marvelous
      post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS
      feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the great b.

      • Bunion hi!
        Thanks for all your lovely positive feedbacks!
        The website was designed by a very nice Korean intern named Seong Eun Gu.
        She used the colors of our logo that was designed by an Indian graphic designer named Kanan Shah.
        http://www.womenartistsoftheworld.com/profile/4171

        Both very talented girls!!!
        We do our best to feature a good mix of up and coming artists as well as renowned ones,to keep our readers interested and wanting for more.
        With time, we will grow the blog into an online magazine where people will be able to select events from female artists from everywhere around the world and attend those events, after all we aim at helping female artists with different tools so they live through their art.
        On the blog, you can enter your e-mail address and receive our weekly newsletter so you always are updated on our postings and activity.
        Thanks for your interest and for encouraging female artists! Cheers ! Gilles

    • I was very pleased to find this website. I need to to thank you for
      your time just for this fantastic read!! I definitely savored every bit of
      it and I have you saved to fav to see new things in your blog.

  3. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve visited this site before but after going through many of the
    articles I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I came across it and
    I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!

  4. I’m extremely impressed with your writing
    skills as well as with the layout on your blog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one today.

  5. Someone essentially lend a hand to make severely posts
    I would state. This is the first time I frequented your web page
    and up to now? I amazed with the research you made to make this particular
    put up incredible. Magnificent job!

  6. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break.
    I enjoy the knowledge you provide here and
    can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, amazing blog!

    • My partner and I stumbled over here from a different page and thought I should check things out.
      I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to exploring your web page for a second time.

    • Achilles hi!
      Thanks for your warm comment! I’ve added you in our newsletter feed, if it is ok for you, you just have to follow the procedure and you will receive our new postings regularly.
      We do our best to select artists our readers would love to discover or know more about. Keep commenting on what you read, it encourage the artists a lot!
      Cheers! Gilles Montezin

  7. Pingback: Homepage

    • Wow that was odd. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up.

      Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Regardless, just wanted to say
      fantastic blog!

  8. Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is important and all. Nevertheless think of if you added some great images
    or videos to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and videos, this site could definitely be one
    of the best in its niche. Good blog!

  9. My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different web address and thought I may as well check things out.

    I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to looking into your web
    page again.

  10. This design is incredible! You most certainly know how to keep a
    reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job.
    I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented
    it. Too cool!

  11. Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve be aware your stuff
    previous to and you’re simply too great. I actually like what you have bought
    here, really like what you’re stating and the way through which you say it.

    You’re making it enjoyable and you still care for to stay it smart.

    I cant wait to learn much more from you. This is really a terrific site.

  12. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Many thanks,
    However I am going through problems with your RSS.
    I don’t know why I can’t subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting identical RSS problems?

    Anybody who knows the solution will you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

  13. To counter this clearly life threatening dilemma, those within the company of creating cash, even at the expense of children or these with a physical handicap, grasped the mettle and came up using the concept of insoles that might improve the height, these insoles have become known as shoe lift inserts insoles as they give exactly the same outcomes as women’s high heel shoes, lifting the heel and adding a particular amount of height

    http://savethetrash.org/content/welly-warmers-faux-fur-trim-treat-your-winter-footsies
    http://www.tinh1dem.com/tinh1dem/member/68/blog/view/22/
    http://www.gunsdrugs.org/blogs/post/20447

  14. Pingback: goji vita funciona

  15. Pingback: sedona beds

  16. Having read this I thought it was really informative.

    I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put this short
    article together. I once again find myself personally spending a significant
    amount of time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

