INTERVIEW / ELIKI LOU

 ” I try to live in the moment and listen to my soul. ” Eliki Lou

A dope voice that in this collab with Kafele proves equally sexy as it is soulful.”

 —  Dj Phaze, Bama Love Soul

 “A Harlem artist who really breaks my heart when I hear her voice”

 —  Mela Lee, GOOD MAGAZINE

Image

1. Tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you and what do you do? What got you interested in art?

My name is Eliki pronounced EEE-Like-eeee and I am a singer /songwriter/ indie artist. I grew up in Greektown Chicago. My American side loved jazz, while my Greek side (my father) sang folk and played mandolin. My family was very musical and encouraged my love for it.

2. Where do you gather most of the inspiration for your works?

I feel music in color. Normally I use that as my springboard. Then from there, the words flood in from personal life experience. I try to live in the moment and listen to my soul.

3. Which one of your work  is your favorite?

They all are for various reasons. Each song is like a baby, though I am not a mother, I imagine that the process is similar to having a child. For the sake of discussion I’ll say Eliki ft Kafele “Destination Unknown Kafele Bossa Dub” followed by Kafele ft Eliki “Secret” (Ezel Mix.)

Eliki ft Kafele Destination Unknown Kafele Bossa Dub

Kafele Bandele feat. Eliki – Secret (Ezel Remix)

4. What role does the artist have in society?

Elevation of consciousness while reminding others of their own humanity.

5. What’s the best thing about being a woman artist?

Everything!!!!! Look at Frida!!!!

6. What is the most difficult part of being a female artist?

Dealing with a male centered society who’ve forgotten the mother. Meaning approaching all artists with the same respect regardless of sexuality.

7. How do you manage in such a situation?

By making my art, my way, on my own terms, and releasing it.

Image

8. Did you ever feel like giving up? What’s the best advice you’ve been given at that time?

Yes. I told myself failure is the road to progress. If I didn’t love this as I do I would’ve walk away. Walking away is not an option creation is.

Advice? Look to the art of our elders. Do not solely rely on pop culture to inform you as an artist. If it gets difficult, express yourself. Be your own coach and positive reinforcement. Work hard. Continue to grow. Listen.

9. How do you look at your previous pieces?

As complete sketches of who/ where I was in my life at that moment. It’s a beautiful thing to reflect on my art as my journal.

10. How does your cultural background affect/ inspire your work?

It’s very much present. Not so much “in your face,” but like breathing, my roots are there. If I hadn’t been raised in Greektown in my family’s restaurant in the Chicago nightlife, I can honestly say I wouldn’t be who I am, have the mind that I do to write, paint, and assemble the words I use. It would be a whole different “Eliki.”

11. What is your dream project?

Recording on analogue  with a dope band pressing an exclusive vinyl that Questlove would spin at Brooklyn Bowl.

12. What is up and coming for you, as projects?

I’m in the midst of finishing an album produced by my partner in crime Kafele Bandele. The sound is electronica, chillout, lounge. Very different from my house releases.

13. What do you want to do next?

If you listen to Destination Unknown, I say “Ask me where I see myself this time next year? I never answer that one well.”

14. Anything you want to ad here is very welcome! Thanks!

Peace and love to all who read this never give up creating for in this, we are free! All else passes art alone endures.

To know more about Eliki, visit:

Women Artists Of The World

www.twitter.com/Eliki
https://soundcloud.com/eliki

www.youtube.com/Elikimusic

One thought on “INTERVIEW / ELIKI LOU

  1. Pingback: MYC Music – The New Wave | mycmoments

Leave a Reply

