Interview / Selcen Yilmazoglu

What I believe is you never get any success if you never try to force the barriers.

-Selcen Yilmazoglu

 

The Mirror

The Mirror

 

Selcen Yilmazoglu was born on September 27, 1986 in Ankara, the capital of Turkey. While she was going to elementary school, she started playing basketball and has now played in various basketball teams for about 10 years. In 2005, one of her legs became injured and she had to quit. Selcen became interested in set still photography when she was in her second year at university. When she was learning photography, she met with a short film director from Istanbul and they established a film crew in 2008. Together, they offered movie workshops called ‘Dream Workshops’, which became a key point in her meeting new filmmakers to get herself noticed. She has met well-known directors and producers, and has excelled as a set photographer, production assistant, and actress. Ultimately, she was more interested in pursuing work in the Entertainment industry than in the Sporting industry, and graduated from New York Film Academy as a producer. She is in love with Production Design and has been working as a production designer for 2 years.

 561239_10150944657528740_1574671066_n

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

My name is Selcen (you pronounce it Seljen). I’m a 27 year old Turkish girl. I’m working as a producer, screen writer and production designer. I don’t know what got me into art but I feel like I was born for this. I’m in love with cinema!

What was attractive for you in cinema?

Script writing and production design are my passions. I have a vision. When I read a script, I can imagine all of the places and how it should be. So I want to improve myself through production design. There are only art directors here. They don’t need to work with a production designer and I don’t know why because it is important to work with a production designer for film or television. Anyway, I’ll do it and I’ll make it. I believe in myself.

Bloody Night, 2013 Selcen participated as a production designer.

Bloody Night, 2013
Selcen participated as a production designer.

Where do you gather most of the inspiration for your works? 

Music and real life stories inspire me all the time.

How does your cultural background affect your work?

Turkey has a big and different history. There are always different stories here. It affects me in an amazing way. Istanbul is a multicultural city that inspires me all the time. When I walk on the streets, I see so many things. Funny cats, musicians, curious students, Casanova men, unhappy women, hopeful children and creative artists, etc. All of those things inspire me to make films.

Would you recommend a Turkish film or two which inspired you, or can you share something special and unique about Turkey?

Kelebegin Ruyasi by Yilmaz Erdogan (The Butterfly’s Dream) and Masumiyet by Zeki Demirkubuz (Innocence). These movies are my favorites.

Kelebegin Ruyasi (The Butterfly’s Dream) by Yilmaz Erdogan

Masumiyet (Innocence) by Zeki Demirkubuz

What do you think the artist is in society?

I believe that artists are the secret leaders of society. If people like your work, they start to think that you are a genius and they following you.

In your opinion, what’s the best thing about being a woman artist?

Women always follow their instincts and that is the best thing you can do! If you put your soul into your work, believe it or not, you will do the best! And women are always more passionate, emotional, arrogant, stubborn and spiritual than men.

Kubilay, 2010 Selcen participated in this movie as a still photographer.

Kubilay, 2010
Selcen participated in this movie as a still photographer.

What is the most difficult part of being a female artist?

About difficulties– you know if you are a woman, you have to be careful of men just because you are a woman. Some people don’t think that you can work as a professional. And some directors and producers ask me to date, etc., which I don’t like at all. And if you do not accept it, you can’t get the job.

Was there any moment you felt like giving up? 

As an artist, of course I have felt like giving up. But you know, things happen all the time. When I feel that way I don’t try to stop that feeling. I feel like “Ok, Selcen. Good things are gonna happen, but just not now”. I was a basketball player for a long time, so giving up is not in my nature. I always find a way to do what I want.

SONY DSC

What is your dream project?

I have a feature film project that I wrote the script for. It’s a high budget film but I am sure that I will do it.

What is up and coming for you, as far as projects go?

I had a couple of offers, but I’m working on my own projects these days. We are done with the shooting. I’m waiting for the editing. It’s a short film called The Mirror. It’s about an introverted college student, Akin, and his process of finding himself through two people.

What do you want to do next?

After I finish The Mirror, I want to start to feature film.

Here’s trailer of the movie she participated in! :)

An Old Story

An Old Story

 

For more details, visit Women Artists of the World!

Here’s Selcen’s Linkedin.

 

Presented by International Foundation for Women Artists

Leave a Reply

